My Nikkah

Two days after my mendhi (and a day after my husbands mendhi, whom i shall now refer to as Amir as i did get laughed at by my BiL by calling him hubby  on the blog and to be fair, that is abit too lovey dovey a name for me anyway), we had arranged for our nikkah to take place. The nikkah was the most important thing out of the whole wedding as this would be the actual signing of papers (and lives) to one another and declaring before God that we wanted to be married basically.

My older sis F was generous enough to offer to host the nikkah at her house. My parents place is a little cosy and would have been tight to hold both out families and a restaurant/hall meant more splashing the cash so we decided to keep it a personal, simple, family affair. F did the cooking of the main dishes and my mum made her signature starters of roast chicken and kebabs with mint chutney. Dessert was…obviously…a CAKE! (my fave, fresh cream from ‘The Pantry’ of course)

I had again bought my outfit last minute from Bombaby Looks, an anarkali dress and matched some bangles from the same place. I found a bargain pair of Kurt Geiger shoes from the internet and decided to to my own hair and makeup too. I decided to keep it all fairly simple-ish to suit the occasion. My sis F again did a fab job of ordering balloons, favour bags disposable napkins and dishes to match my outfit and also handmade a banner for both rooms (as the men and women were to be segregated during the ceremony). I must add here that F is super talented in the creative department and did not dissapoint.

nikkah favour bags
nikkah favour bags
nikkah balloons
nikkah balloons
banner courtesy of F (this now lives on my bedroom wall)

banner courtesy of F (this now lives on my bedroom wall)

On the day we all got ready and went round to my sisters.To stop the nerves i helped out with bringing dishes from home to my sisters (i even hoovered at F’s house until i was told to stoppit and go upstairs and relax!) and tried to keep calm. Amir was texting me at this point telling me he was practically there! I must say i did HEAR them coming before i saw them as they had hired out a turqouise green maserati (he will kill me if i got that wrong) and were defo having fun with it!

Whilst they played out the formalities i was pacing around upstairs and trying to read my neices copy of ‘cat in the hat’ to distract myself until my sisters, sis in law and bro came to collect me! my sis in law is such a softie and got me crying so i told her to stoppit and couldnt she see i was trying man up?! but nope she started it and it got worse! haha

i covered my head with my dupatta while the duas (prayers) were being read and a shawl around my shoulders. i went into the ladis room and greeted them and sat on the sofa. At this point i was a ball of nerves inside but still manage to keep fairly composed….until someone said something nice and set me off!!! and that was that, off with the sniffles and tears and that got my mum and amirs mum going as well as some of the other ladies (sis in law, look what you started), Finally my uncle came in with the paperwork and asked me the all important question and whether i accepted the £101 (the offer of money is called a Haq Meher and is requested by the bride and kept as a fallback should anything happen in the future, my sister did say i should ask for something impossible but i decided that asking for bucketloads of money or materialistic stuff was just not me so i agreed on the bare minumum which is £101)and i accepted. I signed the papers with shaky hands and that was it! i was MARRIED!!! all the women of both mine and Amirs family came to hug me (setting me off again with their lovely comments) and congratulate me. The dried nuts sweets and fruit were handing out which were brought along by the grooms side.

me signing my life away!
me signing my life away!

Amir then came into my room to cut the cake and be fed mithai (sweets) and then took lots of pictures with his family and mine. It was also the first time i was meeting some of his cousins and everyone was just so cool. sis N pulled out her professional camera and click click away she went. We then ate the meal (complete with the personalised napkins), some more pics and then it was time to go home.

sweet basket
sweet basket
grooms side dried fruit, nuts and sweet basket
grooms side dried fruit, nuts and sweet basket
cake!
cake!
feeding time!
feeding time!

All in all it went perfectly and had all the people i wanted there to make it special and intimate. Everyone parted from the house with a keepsake (whether a napkin, balloon or banner), all the wedding gifts (we had bought all of Amirs family gifts and packed and ready to hand over at the nikkah to save hassle exchanging on the wedding day…my sisters, mum and I all chipped in to buy things for everyone which worked out well, especially as we all have a good eye for gifts and tried to personalise to each person) and a huge smile.

I remember falling asleep that night with a smile and thinking i was ready for my new life, new family and new husband.

a pose in front of the maserati

a pose in front of the maserati

newly married!

newly married!

2 thoughts on “My Nikkah

  1. Pingback: Happy 1st Anniversary! | JoJo Jeenius

Leave a Reply

