❤ Mum ❤

I’ve been thinking about my mum a lot lately. As one of her 5 children and one of 4 girls my mum had a tough job bringing us all up but she did amazingly well and gave us an awesome childhood. To me, she’s supermum and in my eyes there’s nothing she can’t do.

Whilst I was at home me and my mum were usually the ones at home during the day wand did things together (such as shopping trips, telly time, cooking related stuff etc), since moving to my in laws I miss that….ALOT. I’ve always been a bit of a baby when it comes to being homesick but more so when I’m away from my mum. I remember a time when she went on holiday abroad to visit family for a few weeks and I missed her presence like crazy, I even tried drawing a pic of her (which didn’t turn out too well) and eventually ended up bawling on my bed much to the concern of my siblings, haha. The funny thing is when she came back and said ‘I heard you missed me’ I was all ‘muuuuummm, no way, we had so much fun whilst you were gone!’, silly I know.

I feel a lot differently now though, I don’t get to spend as much time with my mum as I did when I lived with her and that’s given me a new perspective on how I feel about her and about making the most of the time I get when I’m back. Luckily Amir has been good in taking me back (mostly when I’m getting soppy and moody about missing mum) and letting me spend some quality time with her and the rest of the family pretty often.

I make a point of trying to bring my mum nice things when I go back to make her smile and ask how she is and talk more which admittedly wasn’t what I did much of when I was there, you realise what you have taken for granted for so long when circumstances change. As I’m missing my mum a little right now I thought I’d make a list of her amazing-ness and the reasons why I love her unconditionally. Sometimes no matter what goes on in your life however good or (usually) bad at some point the only thing that can make it ok is a mother’s love, comfort and security.

-Patience – raising 5 kids without growing crazy my mum must have had a lot of this! Obviously she was firm at times but 5 monsters constantly up to no good?? Hard work!
– Treats and Sweets – no matter what happened my mum always gave us treats! I reckon we all get our sweet tooth from her. As a kid i’d come home and ask for a chocolate and also get to pick on the weekends too when out shopping. She’s continued this with my niece and nephews, in fact one time when she unfortunately broke her wrist she STILL managed to give the kids some sweets before going off in the ambulance…!
-Food – my mums food is AMAZING. I know I know, Everyone says that’s about their mums cooking but seriously my mum is a masterchef in disguise. So many people have commented on her cooking skills, she even sent me to the butchers once where she buys meat so the guy could taste some of her lamb kebabs. Nothing fills me more and hits the spot when I’m starving than her cooking. I have copied so many of her recipes in my own cooking but it’s never as good as hers, I guess she puts that extra ingredient of a mothers love in… 🙂
– Sewing – my mum is an amazing seamstress and worked hard with her skills to save up. As we we growing up we got some lovely shalwar kameezes sewn for us on her industrial size seeing machine. I have also learnt a little bit about sewing from her and have attempted to make a kameez but would like to one day be as skilled as my mum.

To be honest the list is endless for me and I could go on and on about the amazing-ness of my mum but everyone who has one knows that anyway. So all I will end on is make the most of spending time with your mum and loved ones, no matter what happens in life they will always be the ones there for you. X

20130105-133546.jpg

20130105-133733.jpg

Paradise lies at the feet of your mother – Prophet Muhammad (pbuh

The palm on your fevered brow, the soft kisses when you need them most, the grip that steadies you on rocky roads, the hand that feeds and nurtures you, the voice that tells you that you are loved, the shadow that walks beside you unconditional and enduring, a mothers love – sunita sharma

When it comes to love, mums the word – unknown

2 thoughts on “❤ Mum ❤

  1. Your mum is really cool. One of the nicest people I’ve been fortunate enough to have in my life. Her cooking is awesome and she has a heart of gold!

    As for bringing you lot up……she’s a miracle worker!

    #NuffRespect

    Reply

Leave a Reply

