Chicken Keema

I decided that since I haven’t cooked a savoury meal in a while I’d make one today!

I’ve learnt most (well pretty much all) of my curry recipes of my mum whose food is amazing, and one day when she decided to make a chicken mince curry it turned out to be one of my favourites.

It’s easy to make, fresh and delicious and for those of you who suffer problems from eating too much red meat (or lamb keema curry) this is a good alternative.

To make the masala: (this base can practically be used for any curry although some people add more or less ingredients, each to their own taste of course).
The recipe below belongs to my mum and serves a family portion

Ingredients:
2 medium onions
Sunflower oil
2 green bullet chillies
2 garlic cloves
3-4 tomatoes
Tomato paste
1 tsp salt
1 tsp chilli powder
1 tsp garam masala (optional)
1 kilo chicken mince
3-4 dirt (loose) potatoes

Method:
-Dice the onions and add to a pan
-Add around 3-4 tablespoons of oil
-Allow the onions to sauté until golden
-Add the diced garlic and bullet chillies and stir, let cook for 5 minutes
-Grind the tomatoes in a blender, add to the pan
-Squeeze 2-3 dollops of tomato paste in
-Add the salt, chilli powder and garam masala and stir
-when the oil begins to form on the top of the masala it is ready
-Add the chicken mince and stir in Wth masala, make sure you stir well and mash down mince to avoid mince cooking in lumps.
-when the mince is halfway cooked add the peeled and diced potatoes
-Leave on a high heat for 10 minutes before lowering heat and leaving to simmer with the lid on
-If the mince lets out water (which it probably will) leave it to cook until all the water has dried up and the potatoes are fully cooked through.
-Serve with chappatis and enjoy!

Have a go and let me know how it turned out. This recipe can be used with lamb mince also. X

20130123-175257.jpg

20130123-183801.jpg

2 thoughts on “Chicken Keema

  1. Hi, do you not use jeera (zeera) as I find not putting jeera in curries leaves u with bad wind problems! Lol
    I also put fresh corriander in my curries and “bhun” it once everything is cooked, just so it comes together and gives it a better taste!
    I have never put in tomato paste though, might try it! Nice post!

    Reply
    • Hi, I’ve never seen my mum use zeera but my mum in law does, maybe I’ll try it next time. I do add coriander (when I remember) to other curries but with keema prefer to keep it a ‘clean’ kind of look 🙂 and yep ‘bhunning’ is important, I learnt that the hard way but must have forgotten to add it in. Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

